Society for New Music


Society for New Music celebrates NASA and Apollo 8's golden anniversary

Article from the Syracuse Post-Standard


Libretto of Pushed Aside: Reclaiming Gage now available for purchase

By popular demand, the libretto of our popular opera Pushed Aside: Reclaiming Gage is now available for $10. Orders can be mailed to U.S. addresses only. For international orders, please email us at

Add to Cart

View Cart


2018 Brian Israel/Sam Pellman Award Winners Announced

A record number of young composers (60) from throughout New York State submitted scores for the 32nd annual Brian Israel prize.

Juilliard student Jack Frerer won the Brian Israel/Sam Pellman prize of $1,000 for his Downloads. Saad Haddad, a student at Columbia University, won the New York Federation of Music Clubs Israel prize of $750 for his Kaman Fantasy. In addition to the prizes, both composers will have their music performed during the Society for New Music's 2018-19 season, the 47th season.

The judges were also very impressed with music by three other composers, and named them Honorable Mentions. They are Noah Kahrs at the Eastman School, Michael Seltenreich at New York University, and Douglas Hertz at Bard College/University of Michigan.

Jack Frerer was born in 1995 and is an Australian-American composer of music for concert, film, and dance, as well as a producer and filmmaker based in Manhattan where he is currently pursuing his BM in Composition at Juilliard, and studying with Pulitzer Prize winner John Corigliano.

Saad Haddad, born in Georgia in 1992 and raised in California, holds degrees in composition from Juilliard and the University of Southern California. Both composers have won a Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, among several other awards and prizes.

Winners are determined by the judges looking at the scores and listening to the sound files. The names of the composers and their affiliation are only revealed after the judges have selected their winners. SNM is grateful to Sam Pellman’s former student Ben Salzman for handling the submissions.

Judges were Heather Buchman, conductor, Hamilton College; Ryan Chase, a 2016 Israel winner, now on Colgate University’s faculty; and Sar Shalom Strong, a lecturer in piano at Hamilton College.

The prizes are named for Brian Israel, who was a commissioned composer and regular performer with SNM until his untimely death at age 35 in 1986. His close friend, composer Sam Pellman, served as chair of the competition for many years until the fall of 2017, when he also met an untimely death while riding his bicycle. SNM’s board increased the prize money and re-named its prize the Brian Israel/Sam Pellman Prize.


Get Your Tickets Now for the Gala Benefit

Join us for a celebratory evening of food and music on Sunday, May 20, 5:00–8:00 pm, at a private home in Manlius.

The honorees at the gala will be Patricia and the late Tony DeAngelis, outstanding musicians, legendary music teachers, and generous supporters of the arts; and the late Sam Pellman, renowned composer, author, Hamilton College professor, long-time board member, and Chair of the Brian Israel Prize. Music will be performed by their students.

There will be a buffet dinner of favorite foods of the late Antje Lemke, beloved SU professor, former SNM board member, and SNM honoree, plus wine, tea, and coffee.

Tickets are $50 per person or $75 per person sponsor listing. Seating is limited to 80. Tickets must be purchased in advance by May 15.


Reviews Continue to Come in for Music Here & Now

SNM's two-disc set is available at Innova and iTunes.

Gapplegate Classical-Modern Music Review
Fanfare (pdf)
I Care If You Listen
Jazz Weekly
Art & Culture Maven

fresh ink concerts news see and hear resources about us home